NABDA’s Director, Gidado Gets Awards for Outstanding Contributions for Driving Science Communications

By Mohammed Mohammed

Dr. Rose Maxwell Gidado, former Country Coordinator of the Open Forum on Agricultural Biotechnology (OFAB), who is now Director of Agricultural Department, National Biotechnology Development Agency (NABDA), on Tuesday was presented with an award for her sterling contributions to science communication and growth in the country.

At the ceremony themed: “Change Management and Data-Driven Strategic Engagement for Development, which was the 4th in the series of International Conference on Communication and Development in Africa was put together by the Institute of Strategic and Development Communication (ISDEVCOM) in partnership with the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC), at the Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Niger State.

The Director was commended for her proactiveness in using effective science communication to drive biotechnology deployment for Nigeria’s food security.

Speaking, the Executive Director ISDEVCOM, who is driver of the event, Prof. Emmanuel Dandaura, while commending Gidado, referred to her as: “mother of science communication”.

Gidado, who was full of excitement expressed her gratitude for the award and acknowledged its importance in motivating her to do more in terms of sensitising people about the science behind modern agricultural biotechnology.

According to her, Dandaura’s leadership qualities attracted the grant by donor agencies like Sci-Dev of London, funded by Robert Bosch Stiftung of Germany, which led to the commencement of science communication in Nigeria.

On drive to ensure Nigeria’s food security in a growing population, Gidado, said NABDA’s efforts with support from AATF and OFAB has resulted in the cultivation of two genetically modified crops – Bt cotton and Bt cowpea an indigenous variety with high yields.

At the event, awards were presented to over 20 pioneers of development communication, including individuals who have advanced the practice in Nigeria, recognising the contributions of several distinguished Nigerians, including the Chief of Staff of Adamawa State government, Prof. Maxwell Gidado, SAN; the governor of Adamawa, Ahmadu Fintiri and Engr. Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State.

Related Posts

Train Station kidnap: Rescued victims Recount Ordeal, Hail Edo Govt

Faith Maji's Blog

Aregbesola in Door-to-Door Mobilization for Sanwo-Olu

Faith Maji's Blog

Court dismisses asset declaration suit against Peter Obi

Faith Maji's Blog

2023: Osinbajo Seeks Senate APC Caucus Support over Presidential Bid

Faith Maji's Blog

Trade Union Congress: Why We Conferred Most Outstanding Award on HoCSF, Dr. Yemi-Esan

Faith Maji's Blog

Former Abia Commissioner’s Associates Charged by ICPC to Refund N550m

Faith Maji's Blog

NASENI, NMDC Kick-Start Collaboration for Diversification of Nigeria’s Economy

Faith Maji's Blog

Aregbesola Launches 5-year Strategic Plan, Says Ministry Integral to National Security 

Faith Maji's Blog

EFCC Extends Bids for Some Forfeited Assets

Faith Maji's Blog

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.